A Man Of His Word

Posted on July 26, 2009. Filed under: 1 |

A Man Of His WordA Man Of His Word by Kathleen Fuller is a book about the Amish way of life and what happens when the real world intrudes. It is also a heartbreaking love story. Moriah Byler is a young Amish woman who wants nothing more than to be a good wife to her husband. Somehow, things end up cooling and her husband, Levi Miller, spends more and more time at work far away from home. She is still astonished when he leaves the Amish with nothing but a note given to his twin brother. What Levi doesn’t know is that Moriah is pregnant with their first child.

The knight in shining armor is Levi’s twin brother Gabriel who has always loved Moriah from afar. Gabriel is a man of his word and completely unlike his brother, but Moriah has doubts that weigh her down. It takes another tragedy for Moriah to learn to open her heart and love Gabriel so she can be complete again.

I loved how the action takes place slowly while real life is happening. It made me feel just like I was walking in Moriah’s shoes. Because this story is narrated over time, a bond is made with the lead characters and it is possible to understand why people did the things that they did.

I recommend this book unconditionally. I was so sucked in that I had to be pulled away. I loved that I could cheer and also want to duke it out with some of the characters. I found myself talking out loud to the book! It gets my big thumbs up. A Man Of His Word is a fine love story and a tale about honor, steadfastness, and trusting in God to get us over obstacles in our lives. I loved it. Makes a fine, gripping, fast read.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “A Man Of His Word”

RSS Feed for Scarpettajunkie’s Blog Comments RSS Feed

I sent you an e mail yesterday re your win at Pudgy Penguin Perusals. Please send me your address within the next 24 hours or I will need to pick alternative winner. florida982002[at]yahoo[dot]com

My address is
Scarpettajunkie/Deirdra Van Duzer
236 Hickory Grove Road
Horseheads, NY 14845


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

