BOOK REVIEW: Perfection by Julie Metz

Posted on May 7, 2009. Filed under: 1 |

What I Am Reading Right Now, An ARC!

What I Am Reading Right Now, An ARC!

Pefection is a women’s book, but it could be recommended for anyone who has lost a spouse or is going through a divorce. It is about a woman called Julie Metz who loses her husband due to a brain aneurysm. Six months after his death she discovers that he was unfaithful to her throughout their 12-year marriage, including a long term relationship with one of Julie’s close friends.

On reading this book I could see myself doing all the things Julie did when she lost her husband. I could believe that it was myself discovering the betrayal. The feelings were fierce and powerful. I wanted to throw the book across the room and/or kick Julie’s husband just so that he hurt as badly as Julie did. Only then did I have to pull myself away and say it is only in the book. But if it was myself going through this I can see that it would feel very healing and wonderful to be so understood emotionally throughout these same issues. I can see the book mirroring those lives, which speaks well for this book.

I have more understanding of what it is like to lose a loved one and of how complicated and draining divorce can be. It has opened a window into these issues. This book could only help those involved with death or divorce and is worth reading if you know someone or are related to someone dealing with either death or divorce as it can walk you through to the other side.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

